Happy Music

Image

Last night was a good night. And for people who go through difficult times, good nights are nights you cherish. I played a show with two incredible musicians. One new friend from Michigan who had been touring for a few weeks, and another new friend who I met playing a gig at a marathon. Now I know what you’re thinking, “Dude, you just had surgery. Whasswrongwitchu?” Don’t worry, you’re not the only one. My worried wife was against me exerting any sort of energy. She kept reminding me how much I like to dance when I perform. And to be honest, she was right. Whenever I’m in front of people who are listening to my music, I get a twitch in my left leg and I just can’t help the urge. Not only is it a problem for my energy, but it could also be a problem for my groin. We didn’t want any bloody accidents happening on stage at a coffee shop.

But to my luck and discipline, nothing bad happened. I sang, I played guitar, and I was standing. See, I had to stand, sitting down was actually more uncomfortable. My co-workers came and supported me, and there were some awesome conversations afterwords about life and music. I couldn’t have asked for a better night.

Image

And that’s just the thing. We need to be doing things that make us happy. When you’re going through rough times, rewarding yourself with a nice little treat is important. Of course we can’t get carried away, but a small effort for a smile is worth it. See I couldn’t just cancel this show. Many people would be disappointed, and I would be breaking a commitment. And it was a reasonable activity for me post-surgery. I didn’t need to move around too much and my wife and new friend, Josh, helped carry my gear (Doctor’s orders were to not carry anything over 20 pounds).

Even before they cut me open I was working two jobs, taking care of the house, and I was finding very little time to sing and play music. When we get bogged down with the challenges of life, we have to realize that for our sanity and for the sake of life itself, our happiness should come to the front of the line. I mean think about it, if we work hard just to work hard then we’re not enjoying the little beautiful things that life has to offer. I want to spend time with my wife, I want to create music, I want to write and I just want to make people happy. We have to work hard to live hard. So now I’m exhausted, but it’s cool because I’m happy. Remember: Work hard, Live hard.

Sound check for last night’s show:

Mahal.

-Mr. Cruz

One thought on “Happy Music

Leave a Reply

