October 19, 2014

March 21, 2014 is the most recent post here on our blog. A lot has happened in the last three years. It’s going to take a lot more than one blog post to tell our story, so let’s start on October 19, 2014…


I was driving home from a dance teacher and studio owner convention in Chicago when I was struck by a Semi…


I had attended in preparation for opening my own dance studio the following summer. 

In order to tell you the story of my trauma and how it has affected our marriage, professional lives and emotions, I’ll be sharing snippets. Starting with this post that my husband wrote:

Hello, everyone. First of all, thank you for your kind words. Here’s the latest update:

Theresa is still in the ICU. She had additional testing today that revealed a slight setback and also met with a speech therapist. She will need to do both again tomorrow. We aren’t permitted to share the specifics of her condition at this time, but please know she is in very good hands here. 

When she woke up today she said, “I feel like I’ve been hit by a semi… Oh wait…” It’s nice to know she still has her humor. 

I’ve been reading all of your kind words to her throughout the day. It’s been very helpful in keeping her morale up. 

These are some pictures of her car. She is lucky to be alive. RIP Chevy Aveo. You saved my wife’s life. An additional photo can be seen here: https://secure.fox.com/proxy/www.fox19.com/story/26826247/multiple-car-accident-closes-turnpike-in-both-directions

Updates will continue to be given on our FB page. 

Mahal, Mr. Cruz

Neither of us had any idea how much this would impact our lives… Our plans and hopes of starting a family… We were clueless. 

It’s time to tell my story. The true story. The raw. The nitty gritty. The difficult to swallow. All of it. 

Mahal, Mrs. Cruz

Leave a Reply

